PAKISTAN ZINDABAD    Apr 24 , 2018
Pakistani students win KPD Championship 2012 in Mexico

Date Published: Aug 02 , 2012

A team of Pakistani students, Zainab Hameed, Azeem Liaquaat and Ahmed Shujjan won the Karl Popper Debate Championship against Korean team at the 18th edition of IDEA Youth Forum.  More than 200 participants came from 45 countries and participated in IDEA Youth Forum. 21 debate teams took part in KPDC 2012 over 6 preliminary rounds, 3 elimination rounds and the grand final.  The topic of year for finals was, “Guantanamo Bay prison should be closed down immediately”.  Event took place in Mexico from 2nd July to 15th July 2012 and the final event was held in the Teatro Juarez, in the city of Guanajuato.

Team Pakistan was defending the motion while team Korea had the burden to prove that we should not adopt the motion. Regardless of so many difficulties in reaching Mexico, such as the visa processing and flight delays, they made it to the top. Not only did Pakistani team win the final, but all three team members found their place in the top 10 speakers of the debate.  Zainab Hameed from Pakistan finished the tournament as the top  speaker of KPDC 2012.

The Chief Adjudicator of KPDC 2012, Logandran Balavijendran stated, "Debate is not only about winning and losing.  You have been here for the last few days to exchange ideas, make friends, and learn, and debate is the method in which we do that."  The coach of the Pakistani team, Daniyal Asad said, "It is our first time ever at the IDEA Youth Forum and the amount of support that we have had here is unbelievable from Mexico and around the world, and we just want to thank you.  Viva Mexico!"
  (e-mail ID will not be published)
Future Karachi in the eye of an artist

Optimism and Aspiration, the future look of Karachi city in the eye of an artist.  Possible image source Mr. Noman Ikhlaq from Karachi.


JF-17 Thunder, a light weight fighter aircraft

The JF-17 is being built by Chengdu Aircraft Industry Corporation and the Pakistan Aeronautical Complex. The project is expected to cost about US$500 million, divided equally between China and Pakistan, while each individual aircraft is expected t Read.More.»